重点参考文档 01-入门:SQF 认证步骤

SQF 系列食品安全和质量准则旨在满足行业、客户和 食品供应链所有部门的监管要求。SQF 有小学课程 生产,直至制造、分销、食品包装和零售业务。零售商, 制造商和食品服务公司在批准供应链时依赖 SQF 认证 对于某些人来说,这是在发货任何产品之前的一项要求。

迈出第一步永远是最难的。你可能不知道如何开始或去哪里。有一个 很多可能不熟悉的要求和术语。但是,就像吃大象一样,SQF 规格规范应该一次只消耗一口,通过阅读这份重点参考文档,你已经明白了 第一口!

学习目标

  • 熟悉 SQF 计划
  • 确定获得 SQF 认证的步骤
  • 为 SQF 认证做准备

适用的规范元素

  • 2.1.2.4
  • 2.5.5

关键条款

GFSI

全球食品安全倡议(GFSI)是一个由食品制造商组成的国际组织 以及将专家聚集在一起解决新出现的食品安全问题的零售商。它是 将 SQF 等认证计划与一系列食品安全进行基准测试的组织 要求。

全球市场计划

GFSI全球市场计划阐述了缺乏发展或发展不足的公司如何做 食品安全系统可以应对食品安全的挑战,同时减少 全球食品供应链中的危害,并通过认证努力实现市场准入 加入 GFSI 认证计划。

SQF 计划

Safe Quality Food(SQF)计划得到了零售商、制造商的认可和 对世界各地的餐饮服务提供商进行严格、可信的食品安全管理 系统。该计划遵循GFSI概述的要求,使用零售商和 利益相关者的反馈,以解决我们每天面临的许多食品安全问题。

认证

成功完成 SQF 进行的审计后颁发证书 许可认证机构 (CB)。

食品安全文化

整个组织中一种影响心态的共同价值观和信念模式 食品安全行为。

SQF 系统元素

系统元素位于模块 2 中,定义了 SQF 规范的核心元素,其中 包括任何食品安全体系的关键计划,必须由以下人员实施 所有寻求 SQF 认证的网站。它构成了该场所 SQF 系统的基础。它 包括场所管理层承诺维持安全的食品供应,以及 要做到这一点,必须具备的管理流程

食品行业类别 (FSC)

为帮助采用统一的方法管理 SQF 而建立的分类 程序。食品行业类别通常被称为 FSC,用于标识活动和 每个场所的审计师要求。

SQF 模块

SQF 模块是必需的良好生产规范和必备计划 对于每个场所。相关模块取决于每个场所的产品和流程。

流程步骤

1。了解 SQFI 和 SQF 规范

a. 认证的第一步是熟悉 SQF 计划,这样您就可以 更好地了解要使用哪个 SQF 规范以及适用哪些要求。访问 SQFI 网站 (sqfi.com)。该网站有许多工具和资源; 此外,《规范》可以免费下载和打印。

b. SQF 计划有一系列守则可帮助您达到食品安全水平 您需要的认证,每个规范都建立在前一个规范的基础上,以提供 持续改进,认证途径。

c. 您可以以最适合您的业务需求的级别加入该途径, 你的市场的。选择权在你手中。

d. 知道从哪里开始可能会令人困惑,因此请使用下表来帮助您 确定您应该从哪里开始获得 SQF 认证。

如果然后
你需要的程序是 获准用于中小型站点 并遇到 GFSI 全球 市场计划。

使用以下 SQF 基础课程之一:

  • SQF 初级生产基础知识,基础版
  • SQF 初级生产基础知识,中级
  • SQF 制造业基础知识,基础知识
  • SQF 制造业基础知识,中级
你需要的程序是 GFSI 基准测试

使用以下 SQF 食品安全规范之一:

  • 初级生产
  • 制造业
  • 存储和分发
  • 食品包装的制造
你需要一个基准测试的 GFSI 包含以下内容的程序 质量使用其中一项 SQF 食品安全规范和 SQF 质量 规范
你没有买家 要求,但想要一个程序 衡量您的食品安全 也就是说,基本程序 基于 HACCP使用 SQF 基础课程,基础版
如果你没有买家 要求,但想要一个程序 用来衡量你的食品安全 项目 基于 HACCP使用 SQF 基础课程,中级
如果你没有买家 要求但想要一个程序 用来衡量你的食品安全 基于 HACCP 的程序以及 包括更多 严格的食品安全 标准

使用其中一项 SQF 食品安全规范:

  • 初级生产
  • 制造业
  • 存储和分发
  • 食品包装的制造

e. 一旦确定了适用于您的产品和流程的 SQF 规范,您就是 现在必须找到相关的食品行业类别和适用的模块。由 使用任何 SQF 代码的附录 1 来识别食品行业类别或 您的商品所属的类别 (FSC)。FSC 将决定哪些模块 以及您需要实施的 SQF 食品安全规范。

f. 例如,如果您生产罐装蛋黄酱,而您的零售商要求您 要获得 GFSI 基准测试计划,您的产品符合 FSC 18 保留 食品制造,您将使用 SQF 食品安全规范进行制造, 这将需要系统组件(模块 2)和模块 11。

g. 一旦您确定了适用于您的产品和流程的规范,下一步 步骤是了解《规范》要求。学习如何做的最好方法之一 实施 SQF 规范要求就是使用我们的 SQF 培训解决方案之一。 培训将引导您了解《规范》并阐明《规范》要求 同时举例说明其他网站用来生产自己的食品 安全计划。

h. SQFI 提供了几个选项,包括在线培训或面对面培训 通过获得许可的 SQF 培训中心。SQFI 还有我们的自主创业指南,例如 这些提示表和指导文件。选择权在你手中,取决于你的 学习偏好、预算和可用性。要找到训练解决方案,那就是 最适合你,请访问 SQFI 网站 (sqfi.com)。

2。组建您的食品安全团队

a. 无论您的场所是小、中还是大,配备合适的员工是关键 以维护和维持您的食品安全系统。第一步是构建你的 食品安全小组。指定您的一名员工作为食品负责人 安全。SQF 计划将此人称为 SQF 从业人员。不管怎样 标题,此人负责实施和维护您的食品安全 系统。他们必须了解食品安全并熟悉 您的产品和流程面临的食品安全风险。每个 SQF 规范都有特定的 对此人的要求,因此请务必查看适用于您的规范 产品和工艺。

谁将成为您的食品安全专职人员/SQF 从业人员?______________

食品安全的责任并不仅仅由SQF从业者承担,或者 食品安全负责人。该场所必须有一支符合以下条件的食品安全小组 包括来自组织各个领域的工作人员,包括高级场所管理人员, 生产, 采购, 卫生和维护.抓住所有人

谁将加入您的食品安全团队?

部门姓名部门姓名

质量保证经理

维护

SQF 从业者

卫生

购买

制作

训练

顾问

3。实施并记录 SQF 规范要求

a. 现在您已经更熟悉 SQF 规范,是时候实施 SQF 了 规格要求。您可以通过内部实施这些要求 专业知识,或者在某些情况下;网站此时会聘请顾问。虽然不是 要求聘请顾问,SQFI 已提供注册的 SQF 清单 SQFI 网站(sqfi.com)上的顾问。这些顾问符合一组特定的要求 要求,你可以按地区或食品行业类别搜索顾问。

b.《规范》分为两部分:A部分和B部分以及几个附录 包括食品行业类别、词汇表、徽标使用规则和多站点 要求。

c. A部分包括关于《规范》方法的信息,B部分包括 技术要求。首先,专注于第 B 部分你还想成为 熟悉食品行业类别和词汇表。你对 A 部分的理解 很快就会到来;你的 CB 可以帮你解释这个部分。

d. B 部分分为两部分:

i. 系统元素(即模块 2):根据你使用的规范,这个 部分可以有 100 多个要求。但是,与其看 将它们视为个人需求,将其视为 9 个部分并重点关注 制定食品安全计划。系统元素是 成功的食品安全计划。通过专注于实施这些计划 为了支持本节中的要求,你将开始制作食品 安全系统和组织文化。

1。系统元素有 9 个部分:

1) 管理承诺

2) 文件控制和记录

3) 规格和产品开发

4) 食品安全系统

5) SQF 系统验证

6) 产品识别、追踪、撤回和召回

7) 食品防御和食品欺诈

8) 过敏原管理

9) 训练

二。您将要复习的第二部分是您的必备课程的相关模块,例如良好生产规范 (GMP)、良好 农业实践 (GAP) 等。您在以下情况下确定了相关模块 您之前选择了 FSC。

1。相关模块通常包含 11 个部分。标题 并且要求可能因您使用的规范而异。 以下是模块 11 中的 GMP。

1) 场地位置和施工

2) 房舍和设备的建造

3) 人员卫生和福利

4) 人事处理惯例

5) 水、冰和空气供应

6) 储存和运输

7) 职能分离

8) 现场实验室

9) 废物处理

10) 外观

为了帮助实施您的计划,SQFI 提供了许多可访问的资源。训练非常棒 资源,根据您的学习偏好、预算和时间,有在线和面对面两种选择。SQFI 还提供了指导文件,这些文件提供了更多的解释和解释 《规范》的意图。提示表,例如这张,还提供有关食品等特定主题的提示表 防御、害虫防治和进行风险评估。

4。选择认证机构 (CB)

a. SQFI 网站 (sqfi.com) 上列出了经批准的认证机构名单。SQF 拥有30多家CB,在世界所有地区运营。有些规模较大,或更知名,而另一些则较小或可能专注于特定的大宗商品。你的 CB 是你的 食品安全合作伙伴,因此请选择适合您的CB。

b. 选择 CB 时,请先检查您是否有任何零售商或买家要求,或 监管问题可能会限制您可以使用哪些 CB。这将包括 特别附录、监管合规检查或进口商要求。如果有 没有要求然后选择三个并面试他们。

c. 向CB提出的显而易见的问题是审计费用是多少,需要多长时间 举个例子;但是,为了确保确实如此,你可能会问你的 CB 还有其他问题 最适合您的场所。以下是一些可以考虑问的问题。

d. CB 面试问题:

i. 审计师能力

1。审计师的初始和持续培训是如何进行的?

2。CB 和审计师在审计方面的经验水平如何 产品、工艺、国家、地区等?

3。我的审计师在哪里(这会影响审计成本)?

4。如果你使用的是附录,那么一定要有审计员 获准进行审计。

二。投诉和上诉程序

1。提问以了解出现问题时该怎么做 在审计过程中出现。

iii。数据库系统

1。如何识别不合格情况及其纠正措施 关门了?

2。收到经过技术审查的审计的平均时间是多少 报告并签发证书(根据审计的最后一天, SQFI 需要 10 天才能提交报告,45 天才能提交证书 待发行)?

iv。CB 可以帮助我满足我的具体要求吗?

1。您是否有任何特殊需求,例如将数据输入到 像 RepositoRak 这样的买家数据库?

2。我的流程是否有任何豁免、限制或例外情况?

3。对日程安排或审计时间有限制吗?

5。在 SQF 数据库中注册

a. 要被考虑获得 SQF 认证,网站必须在 SQFI 中注册 评估数据库。可以从 SQFI 网站访问该数据库 (sqfi.com)。

b. 每年注册一次,每个场所都要收费,在注册和续订时支付。

i. 费用比额表由场所的规模和年度总额决定 销售收入。要了解您网站的注册费,请访问 SQFI 网站 (sqfi.com)。

6。进行预评估

a. 对您的场所进行预评估,以确定您当前的食品安全情况 系统符合 SQF 规范要求。这可以通过以下任一方式完成 外部顾问、代表 CB 的 SQF 审计员,或者你可以自己做。

b. 如果您想使用外部帮助,请向您的CB或顾问寻求帮助。

c. 如果您决定进行自我评估,则可以使用其中一个 SQF 清单。SQFI 为每项规范都有一份清单,如果需要,还会有一个 检查监管机构是否符合 FDA FSMA 法规的清单。都是 可在 SQFI 网站 (sqfi.com) 上查阅。

d. 该清单将帮助您完成审计并确定哪些领域 不符合 SQF 规规范要求。

e. 进行评估时,以下是一些提示。

i. 定义您的审计目标

1。审计目标的一些示例包括:

1) 确保我们通过 SQF 审核

2) 减少不合格产品

3) 符合监管要求

4) 满足客户要求

2。正式确定审计流程

1) 定义审计时间和时间表并坚持下去

2) 使用 SQF 规范清单

3) 面试您的员工并让他们参与流程

4) 与员工举行开幕和闭幕会议

3。沟通

1) 写一份正式报告

2) 识别不合格之处

3) 拍摄良好做法和不合规行为的照片

4。把它当作自己的程序来对待

1) 培训员工

2) 包括尽可能多的人

3) 制定程序

5。关闭不合格之处

1) 实施更正和纠正措施

2) 找出根本原因以防止再次发生

7。与 SQF 许可认证机构一起进行 SQF 审计

a. 与您的 CB 一起安排审计事宜。在某些情况下,初始认证将包括 文件审查和场所审计。对于基础课程,该文档 审查是可选的,可以单独进行,也可以作为场所审计的一部分进行。

b. 安排审计时,请务必确认认证范围 包括你想对网站的哪个部分进行审计,以及相关的产品。还有 考虑是否有符合监管要求的附录(例如 FSMA(或其他政府)或客户要求。

c. 审计期限取决于场所的规模、员工人数和 正在审核的产品类型。SQFI 已经制定了审计期限指南 这可以在 SQF 规范 A 部分中找到。这是 CB 和你能做的指导方针 用于估计审计将持续多长时间。

d. 审核安排好后,CB 和审计师将与您联系 审计师姓名、审计日程表并确认审计地点和日期。这个场所 审计通常包括开幕会议和收集证据 支持您的食品安全计划。证据包括但不限于审查 相关文件和记录、员工访谈、场所评估 以及对最佳做法的观察.将举行闭幕会议,概述 审计结果并发现不合格之处。审计师将为您提供一份清单 已发现的不合格物、关闭它们的时间表以及何时 应该颁发证书。

相关资源

下载.pdf

翻译作为一项服务提供给 SQF 客户,并以 “原样” 提供。对于从英语翻译成任何其他语言的任何翻译的准确性、可靠性或正确性,不作任何明示或暗示的保证。

Tip Sheet 01 - Getting Started: Steps to SQF Certification

The SQF family of food safety and quality Codes are designed to meet industry, customer and regulatory requirements for all sectors of the food supply chain. SQF has programs for primary production, through to manufacturing, distribution, food packaging and retail operations. Retailers, manufacturers and food service companies rely on SQF certification when approving their supply chain and for some it is a requirement before any product can be shipped.

Taking that first step is always the hardest. You may not know how to start or where to go. There are a lot of requirements and terms that may not be familiar. However, just like eating an elephant, the SQF Code should be consumed one bite at a time and by reading this tip sheet you have already taken that first bite!

Learning Objectives

  • Become familiar with SQF Program
  • Identify the steps to becoming SQF Certified
  • Prepare for SQF Certification

Applicable Code Elements

  • 2.1.2.4
  • 2.5.5

Key Terms

GFSI

The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) is an international organization of food manufacturers and retailers that brings experts together to address emerging issues on food safety. It is the organization that benchmarks the certification programs such as SQF to a set of food safety requirements.

Global Markets Program

The GFSI Global Markets Program sets out how companies who lack or have underdeveloped food safety systems can meet the challenge of food safety, while simultaneously reducing hazards in global food supply chains and working towards market access through certification to a GFSI-recognized certification program.

SQF Program

The Safe Quality Food (SQF) program is recognized by retailers, manufacturers and foodservice providers around the world as a rigorous, credible food safety management system. The program follows the requirements outlined by the GFSI and uses retailer and stakeholder feedback to address the many food safety issues we all face every day.

Certification

The issuance of a certificate after the successful completion of an audit conducted by an SQF licensed certification body (CB).

Food Safety Culture

A pattern of shared values and beliefs throughout an organization that affect mind-set and behavior toward food safety.

SQF System Elements

Found in Module 2, the System Elements define the core elements of the SQF Code which include the key programs for any food safety system and are required to be implemented by all sites seeking SQF certification. It forms the foundation of the site’s SQF System. It includes the commitment of site management to maintain a safe food supply and the management processes that must be in place to do so

Food Sector Category (FSC)

A classification established to assist in a uniform approach to management of the SQF Program. Often referred to as an FSC, the food sector category identifies the activities and auditor requirements for each site.

SQF Modules

The SQF modules are the required good manufacturing practices and pre-requisite programs for each site. The relevant module depends on the product(s) and process at each site.

Process Steps

1. Learn about SQFI and the SQF Code

a. The first step to certification is to become familiar with the SQF Program so you can get a better understanding of which SQF Code to use and what requirements apply. Visit the SQFI website (sqfi.com). The website has many tools and resources; additionally, the Code is free to download and print.

b. The SQF Program has a series of Codes to help you achieve the level of food safety certification that you need, with each Code building on the previous one to provide a continuous improvement, certification pathway.

c. You can join the pathway at whichever level best suits your business needs and those of your market. The choice is yours.

d. It might be confusing to know where to start so use the table below to help you determine where you should begin your path to SQF certification.

IFTHEN
You need a program that is approved for small, medium sites and meets the GFSI Global Markets Program.

Use one of the following SQF Fundamentals Programs:

  • SQF Fundamentals for Primary Production, Basic
  • SQF Fundamentals for Primary Production, Intermediate
  • SQF Fundamentals for Manufacturing, Basic
  • SQF Fundamentals for Manufacturing, Intermediate
You need a program that is GFSI-benchmarked.

Use one of the following SQF Food Safety Codes:

  • Primary Production
  • Manufacturing
  • Storage and Distribution
  • Manufacture of Food Packaging
You need a GFSI-benchmarked program that includes quality.Use one of the SQF Food Safety Codes AND the SQF Quality Code
You don’t have a buyer requirement, but want a program to measure your food safety fundamental program that is HACCP based. Use the SQF Fundamentals Program, Basic
If you don’t have a buyer requirement, but want a program that measures your food safety program based on HACCP. Use the SQF Fundamentals Program, Intermediate
If you don’t have a buyer requirement but want a program that measures your food safety program based on HACCP and includes more rigorous food safety standards.

Use one of the SQF Food Safety Codes:

  • Primary Production
  • Manufacturing
  • Storage and Distribution
  • Manufacture of Food Packaging

e. Once you’ve identified the SQF Code that applies to your product and process, you now have to find the relevant food sector category and applicable module(s). By using Appendix 1 of any of the SQF Codes identify the food sector category or categories (FSC) your product(s) fall under. The FSC will determine which modules and SQF Food Safety Codes you will need to implement.

f. For example, if you manufacture jarred mayonnaise and your retailer is requiring you to have a GFSI benchmarked program, your product falls under FSC 18 Preserved Foods Manufacture, and you would use the SQF Food Safety Code for Manufacturing, which would require the System Elements (Module 2) and Module 11.

g. Once you have determined which Code applies to your product and process, the next step is to learn about the Code requirements. One of the best ways to learn how to implement the SQF Code requirements is to use one of our SQF training solutions. Training will walk you through the Code and provide clarity to the Code requirements while offering examples that other sites have used to implement their own food safety program.

h. SQFI provides a couple of options including online training or face-to-face training through a licensed SQF training center. SQFI also has our self-starter guides such as these tip sheets and guidance documents. The choice is yours and depends on your learning preferences, budget, and availability. To find the training solution that is the best fit for you, visit the SQFI website (sqfi.com).

2. Building Your Food Safety Team

a. Whether your site is small, medium or large, having the right staff in place is the key to maintaining and sustaining your food safety system. The first step is to build your food safety team. Designate one of your employees as the person in charge of food safety. The SQF program refers to this person as the SQF Practitioner. Regardless of the title, this person is responsible for implementing and maintaining your food safety system. It’s important that they have knowledge of food safety and be familiar of the food safety risks to your products and processes. Each SQF Code has specific requirements for this person so make sure you review the Code that applies to your product and process.

Who will be your dedicated person for food safety/SQF Practitioner? __________________

The responsibility of food safety doesn’t fall solely on the shoulders of the SQF practitioner or the person in charge of food safety. It’s important that the site have a food safety team that includes members from all areas of the organization, including senior site management, production, purchasing, sanitation and maintenance. Getting everyone

Who will be on your food safety team?

DepartmentNameDepartmentName

QA manager

Maintenance

 

SQF Practitioner

Sanitation

 

Purchasing

Production

 

Training 

Consultant

 
    

3. Implement and Document the SQF Code Requirements

a. Now that you are more familiar with the SQF Code, it’s time to implement the SQF Code requirements. You can implement these requirements with your in-house expertise or in some cases; sites use a consultant at this point. While it isn’t a requirement to use a consultant, SQFI has provided a list of registered SQF consultants on the SQFI website (sqfi.com). These consultants meet a specific set of requirements and you can search for a consultant by region or food sector category.

b. There are two parts to the Code: Part A and Part B and several appendices that include the Food Sector Categories, Glossary, Logo Rules of Use and multi-site requirements.

c. Part A includes information on the Code methodology and Part B includes the technical requirements. To start, focus on Part B. You will also want to become familiar with the food sector categories and glossary. Your understanding of Part A will come soon enough; your CB can help explain that section to you.

d. Part B is broken up into 2 sections:

i. System Elements (i.e., Module 2): Depending on the Code you are using, this section can have over 100 requirements. However, instead of looking at them as individual requirements, look at them as 9 sections and focus on building the food safety program. A System Element is the foundation for a successful food safety program. By focusing on implementing the programs to support the requirements in this section you will begin to form your food safety system and organizational culture.

1. The System Elements have 9 Sections:

1) Management Commitment

2) Document Control and Records

3) Specification and Product Development

4) Food Safety System

5) SQF System Verification

6) Product Identification, Trace, Withdrawal and Recall

7) Food Defense and Food Fraud

8) Allergen Management

9) Training

ii. The second section you will review is the relevant module for your prerequisite programs such as good manufacturing practices (GMPs), good agricultural practices (GAPs), etc. You identified the relevant module when you selected your FSC earlier.

1. The relevant module typically consists of 11 sections. The headers and requirements may vary depending on the Code you are using. Below are the GMPs from Module 11.

1) Site Location and Construction

2) Construction of Premises and Equipment

3) Personnel Hygiene and Welfare

4) Personnel Processing Practices

5) Water, Ice and Air Supply

6) Storage and Transport

7) Separation of Functions

8) On-Site Laboratories

9) Waste Disposal

10) Exterior

To aid in implementing your program, SQFI has many accessible resources. Training is an excellent resource and depending on your learning preference, budget and time, there are online and face-to-face options. SQFI also has guidance documents available that provide more interpretation explaining the intent to the Code. Tip sheets, such as this one, are also available on specific topics such as food defense, pest control, and conducting a risk assessment.

4. Choose a Certification Body (CB)

a. A list of approved certification bodies are listed on the SQFI website (sqfi.com). SQF has over 30 CBs that operate in all areas of the world. Some are bigger, or more wellknown, while others are small or may focus on specific commodities. Your CB is your partner in food safety so choose a CB that is the right fit for you.

b. When choosing a CB, first check if you have any retailer or buyer requirements, or regulatory concerns that may restrict which CBs you can use. This would include special addendums, regulatory compliance checks or importer requirements. If there are no requirements then pick three and interview them.

c. The obvious questions to ask a CB is how much the audit costs and how long it will take; however, there are other questions you might ask your CB to ensure they are the right fit for your site. Below are a few questions to consider asking.

d. CB interview questions:

i. Auditor competency

1. How are auditors trained, initially and ongoing?

2. What is the CBs and auditor’s level of experience in auditing my products, process, country, region, etc.?

3. Where is my auditor located (which impacts the cost of the audit)?

4. If you are using an addendum then be sure there is an auditor approved to conduct the audit.

ii. Complaints and appeals process

1. Ask questions to get an understanding of what to do if an issue arises during the audit process.

iii. Database system

1. How are non-conformities identified and their corrective actions closed out?

2. What is the average time for receiving the technically reviewed audit report and issuing the certificate (Based on the last day of the audit, SQFI requires 10 days for the report and 45 days for the certificate to be issued)?

iv. Can the CB assist me with my specific requirements?

1. Are there any special needs you have such as entering data into a buyer database such as ReposiTrak?

2. Are there any exemptions, restrictions or exclusions to my process?

3. Are there restrictions on scheduling or audit times?

5. Register in the SQF Database

a. To be considered for SQF certification, sites are required to register in the SQFI assessment database. The database can be accessed from the SQFI website (sqfi.com).

b. Registration is annual, and there is a fee per site, payable at registration and renewal.

i. The fee scale is determined by the size of the site and the gross annual sales revenue. To know the registration fee for your site, visit the SQFI website (sqfi.com).

6. Conduct a Pre-assessment

a. Conduct a pre-assessment of your site to ascertain how your current food safety system matches up with SQF Code requirements. This can be done either by an outside consultant, an SQF auditor on behalf of a CB, or you can do it yourself.

b. If you want to use outside help, ask your CB or consultant for assistance.

c. If you decide to conduct a self-assessment, you can utilize one of the SQF’s checklists. SQFI has a checklist for each Code and, if needed, there is also a checklist to check regulatory compliance with FDA FSMA regulations. All are available on the SQFI website (sqfi.com).

d. The checklist will help guide you through your audit and identify those areas that don’t meet the SQF Code requirements.

e. When conducting your assessment here are a few tips.

i. Define your audit objectives

1. Some examples of audit objectives include:

1) Make sure we pass the SQF audit

2) Reduce non-conforming products

3) Meet regulatory requirements

4) Meet customer requirements

2. Formalize the audit process

1) Define the audit time and schedule and stick to it

2) Use the SQF Code checklist

3) Interview your employees and involve them in the process

4) Conduct opening and closing meetings with your staff

3. Communicate

1) Write up a formal report

2) Identify the non-conformities

3) Take photos of good practices as well as non-conformities

4. Treat this as its own program

1) Train staff

2) Include as many people as possible

3) Develop procedures

5. Close out the non-conformances

1) Implement corrections and corrective action

2) Identify the root cause to prevent reoccurrence

7. Conduct the SQF Audit with a SQF Licensed Certification Body

a. Schedule your audit with your CB. In some cases, the initial certification will consist of a document review and a site audit. For the Fundamentals program, the document review is optional and can be done separately or as part of the site audit.

b. When you schedule your audit, make sure you confirm the scope of certification including what part of the site you want audited and the relevant products. Also consider if there are any addendums that you want to include to meet regulatory (e.g., FSMA or other government) or customer requirements.

c. The audit duration depends on the size of the site, the number of employees and the type of products that are being audited. SQFI has developed an audit duration guide that can be found in Part A of the SQF Code. This is guidance that the CB and you can use to estimate how long the audit will be.

d. Once the audit has been scheduled, the CB and the auditor will contact you with the auditor’s name, the audit schedule and confirm the audit location and dates. The site audit will typically consist of an opening meeting, and collection of evidence that supports your food safety program. Evidence includes, but is not limited to, review of relevant documents and records, interviews with employees, an evaluation of the site and observation of best practices. A closing meeting will occur which will outline the audit results and identified non-conformities. The auditor will provide you with a list of the identified non-conformities, a timeframe for closing them out and when the certificate should be issued.

Relevant Resources

Download the .pdf

Translations are provided as a service to SQF customers and are provided "as is." No warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, is made as to the accuracy, reliability, or correctness of any translations made from English into any other language.