Implementing SQF Fundamentals

Food manufacturing companies new to food safety or those with underdeveloped food safety systems will be guided through an exploration of seven foundational programs that, along with their food safety plan, make up the SQF Fundamentals Code. These seven foundational programs are:

  • Product specifications
  • Facility construction and maintenance
  • Sanitation
  • Personal hygiene and cross-contamination
  • Approved suppliers
  • Product identification and traceability
  • Internal audit plan


Completion of an HACCP or PCQI class is not required but is highly recommended.

Course Format

  • 1½-day class; self-paced.
  • Instructor-led: In-person, hybrid, or virtual classroom instruction offered by SQF-licensed training centers.
  • Self-paced.

Course Objectives

  • Understand the aim of the SQF fundamentals program.
  • Understand the aim of the SQF program and the steps to certification.
  • Prepare raw and packaging materials specifications.
  • Develop finished product specifications.
  • Identify and rank ingredient and materials suppliers.
  • Develop criteria to approve suppliers.
  • Prevent the contamination of products from the premises.
  • Identify how equipment can be a source of product contamination.