页眉

SQF 准则常见问题解答

根据 SQF 准则 2.6.2.1 iii 部分的要求,供应商应该为模拟召回记录提供什么?

审核员应该在召回课程年度测试中审核供应商编制的记录。

证明可以包括:

  • 召回委员会已建立且所有成员了解他们的角色和职责;
  • 通知客户、SQFI、认证机构、监管机构和其他关键机构的方法和职责明确注明;
  • 召回/撤回系统每年测试一次;
  • 召回/撤回系统符合监管和客户要求;
  • 沟通已在实际或测试召回中进行测试;
  • 实际召回/撤回的根源调查已执行;
  • 已针对召回/撤回中发现的缺陷采取纠正措施(参照 2.5.5)

根据 11.5.7 部分,要求采取什么参数和什么方法对压缩空气进行空气纯度检测?

SQF 准则(附录 2:对纯度进行了定义,术语)进行定义,指的是不存在可能导致食品安全危害的污染物。纯净空气指的是空气中不存在对产品产生交叉污染的风险。从本质上讲,空气必须不可对产品产生任何污染。

食品加工设施需基于这样的前提假设进行操作:即压缩空气可能是化学和微生物污染的来源之一。站点必须验证和确认该设施所使用的压缩空气适于使用且非污染源。当压缩空气与暴露产品、直接产品接触表面和内表面包装接触时,空气压缩机应使用食品级润滑油。

预防维护计划必须确保在使用点实施适当的过滤计划且根据产品和流程或在对任何供气源或设备进行维护之后采取恰当的过滤器清洗/更换次数。必须采用卫生方式进行维护。空气应该在大多数操作中的使用点进行过滤(建议使用点采用尺寸为 0.1 微米的过滤器,或根据风险分析确定适当尺寸)。喷嘴和空气软管应保持良好状态,妥善维修并维持卫生状态(如清洗和消毒)。软管和喷嘴不可接触地面。

用于验证压缩空气有效性的空气过滤控制系统的测试应基于产品风险执行,但至少一年一次。测试可以在公司内部或由承包方完成。测试要求和样品数量将视产品和流程的风险而定。微生物测试可包括适用于操作的菌落总数和/或指示生物的检测。如果湿气对产品而言是潜在危险(如干燥操作),则应考虑对湿度进行检测。应使用无菌样品采集袋。有多种措施可被采用,包括使用空气取样设备、无菌纱布、膜滤法等等。

是否要求供应商通知其认证机构关于 USDA 发放的不合规记录 (NR)?

否。根据 SQF 准则 A 部分,5.3 的概述,认证机构仅需被通知需要公示的召回事件,如 1 级或 2 级召回或收到监管警告信。

发生召回事件时,供应商被要求通知且被列为联系人的对象是何人?

根据 SQF 准则 A 部分,5.3 的概述,在发现需要公示的食品安全事件(如 1 级或 2 级召回或收到监管警告信)时,SQF 已认证供应商应在事件发生之后的二十四 (24) 小时内通过书面形式发生电子邮件至 foodsafetycrisis@sqfi.com 通知认证机构和 SQFI。根据 SQF 准则 2.4.1.32.6.3.1iv 部分的规定,SQFI 和认证机构应被列为必要机构。

成为 SQF 执业者有何要求?个人需注册或认证才能成为执业者吗?

SQF 执业者的教育和知识要求在 SQF 准则(7.2 版本)2.1.2.5 部分中进行概述,具体如下:

SQF 执业者应该:

  1. 被供应商雇用为全职公司员工;
  2. 担任与供应商的 SQF 系统管理相关的职责;
  3. 已完成 HACCP 培训课程:
  4. 能够实施和维护基于 HACCP 的食品安全计划;
  5. 了解 SQF 准则的证书级别和要求以实施和维护与供应商认证范围相关的 SQF 系统。

正如前面指出的,培训(除了 HACCP)或测试没有具体要求。执业者必须证明对 SQF 准则现行版本的了解。部分执业者选择通过成功完成实施 SQF 系统培训课程加以证明,部分则通过成功完成实施 SQF 系统考试。此外,执业者可以通过有效实施的 SQF 系统或在认证审核时恰当回答审核员提出的问题证明自己对准则的熟练掌握程度。

此外,请注意对于注册或“认证”成为执业者没有任何要求。担任执业者角色的人员必须符合 SQF 准则的 2.1.2.42.1.2.5 部分的要求。因此,无需进行“重新注册”或“重新认证”,也无需重新参加实施 SQF 系统课程或实施 SQF 系统考试(如果已成功完成)。

供应商从 2 级别发展至 3 级别时是否需要进行全面文件审核?

文件(或案卷)审核仅针对供应商的初次认证审核,与级别无关。如果供应商选择从 1 级别发展至 2 级别,或从 2 级别发展至 3,则不需要独立文件审核。同样地,供应商更改产品或工艺范围时也不需要独立案卷审核。发展至不同级别(例如,从 2 级别至 3 级别或从 3 级别至 2 级别)的供应商必须等待至下个重新认证审核日期。

当供应商更改范围(包括级别),且实际上在所有重新认证审核和监督审核中,文件的更改应作为设施审核的一部分进行复查。

SQF 准则的 2.5.6 部分要求外部实验室获得 ISO 17025 认证或同等认证。何为同等认证,如何确定?

ISO 17025 是实验室资格认可的国际标准。GFSI 要求投入物的外部分析由获得此国际标准资格认可的实验室执行。但是,部分国家/地区不认可 ISO 17025 且实施有国家实验室资格认可标准。
因此,同等认证适用于采用国家标准而非 ISO 17025 的国家/地区。

SQF 审核员应具备哪些资格?

注册成为 SQF 审核员的标准可通过 SQF 网站的 SQF 专业人士选项卡查找。

综上所述,希望注册成为 SQF 审核员的个人将需要提供以下证明:

  1. 完成持续时间为 40 小时的已注册管理系统主任审核员培训课程(即获得 RABQSA、IRCA 认可)。
  2. 完成持续时间为 3 天的 SQF 计划所有者培训(如审核 SQF 系统)。请注意:申请人可选择参加 SQF 主任审核员培训课程(5 天持续时间)以达到 1 和 2 以上的要求。
  3. 成功完成 HACCP 培训课程并发放证书。HACCP 培训必须是 2 日课程且提供最终评估和证书。
  4. 已完成至少 160 小时的食品行业食品安全和/或质量审核(20 个审核日)
  5. 在食品行业的食品安全、HACCP 计划管理和/或质量体系管理方面拥有至少 5 年的工作经验。
    1. 对于申请注册的每个高风险食品行业类别 (FSC),申请人都必须证明其在申请的 FSC 内的食品安全和/或质量管理方面具有 2 年的工作经验,或者在申请的 FSC 内有 160 个审核工作时,或者在每个申请的 FSC 内均有工作经验和审核经验。
  6. 必须受雇于或与 SQF 已许可认证机构签订合同(若签订合同,则申请人必须至少由一个 SQF 已许可认证机构提供赞助)。

要申请注册成为 SQF 审核员,候选人将需要通过在线申请提交符合上述要求的证明。在线申请可通过 SQF 网站的“SQF 专业人士”选项卡或通过单击此处进行访问。

有关申请流程的更多信息,包括审核日志和工作经验的模板,请访问 SQF 网站的“成为 SQF 专业人士”页面。

供应商在整个 SQF 认证流程中何时可更换不同的认证机构?

关于更换新的认证机构的要求可在 SQF 准则(7.2 版本)A 部分,5.2 部分中找到。

如果 SQF 供应商已获得一个认证机构 (CB) 的认证且想要使用不同的 CB,该供应商可在一个认证周期结束后更换 CB 但不可在监督审核日程期间。供应商必须所有消除严重不合规项且认证不可被暂停或存在暂停或撤销风险。要求监督审核的供应商可仅在由 SQFI 高级技术总监执行监督审核或提供书面批准之后更换认证机构。

供应商更换认证机构时,前认证机构发放的注册证书在预期过期日期之前仍然有效。供应商的证书号码和重新认证日期将转移至新的认证机构。

认证机构将负责复查供应商的证书以:

  1. 确认注册证书是现行、有效的且与已认证的 SQF 系统相关。
  2. 确认供应商的食品行业类型属于新认证机构的资格认可范围。
  3. 确认针对收到的任何投诉采取措施;
  4. 复查供应商的审核历史(供应商可通过提供任何前认证机构完成的审核报告的副本向新认证机构证明此类历史)以及任何严重不合格项的影响。
  5. 确认当前认证周期的阶段。

SQF 2000 准则 6 部分中的支持性程序 (PRP) 怎么不见了?哪些 PRP 需要根据 2.4.2.4 进行验证?

SQF 2000 准则 6 部分中的支持性程序 (PRP) 并未取消。这些程序已被整合至其他食品安全原则以避免重复。所有 PRP 必须根据 2.4.2.4 进行记录、实施和验证。请记住,所有食品安全原则(即 PRP)、关键限制和其他食品安全控制措施均需根据 2.5.1.2 进行验证。

为何将过敏原管理计划、认可供应商计划及站点的培训计划的相关部分转移至模块 2?

过敏原管理、认可供应商及培训被视为供应商的 SQF 系统的重要组成部分并确定为系统要素,全部位于 SQF 准则的模块 2。过敏原管理 (2.8.2) 并非独立计划,而是站点食品安全计划以及许多食品安全原则的组成部分。站点的认可供应商计划 (2.4.5) 现已整合至“进货和服务”部分的模块 2 且培训计划 (2.9) 现已被视为关键系统要素。对于所有 SQF 系统要素,这些计划必须有效记录和实施(如适用)并进行验证以确保有效实施。

为何 PRP 不被要求进行验证?相反,PRP 根据 2.5.2.4 的说明被要求进行验证。你们能否提供 PRP 是否要求正式验证的说明。

“验证”一词具体适用于控制限并要求通过科学分析证明控制限的有效性。根据我们利益相关者的意见,我们改写了支持性程序的要求,规定了 PRP “被确定以确保达到要求结果”而非“验证”。目的是为了说明准则的目的以满足 PRP 的有效性。

SQF 准则的 11.3.2.2 部分明确规定了在洗手台提供纸巾。热空气干手机或“空气叶片干手机”能否成为合适的替代品?

SQF 准则明确使用纸巾是因为纸巾能够物理清除手部的微生物。此外,空气干手机并不能够一直有效地干燥手部并且在某些情况下可能成为污染源。如果站点希望使用空气干手机,则其有效性必须得到验证。这就意味着用于干燥手部的设备必须能够干燥手部且不造成进一步污染。例如,很多时候空气干手机不能完全干燥手部,导致员工使用其他不卫生的方式干燥他们的手部(如裤子、不洁毛巾等)。此外,干手机本身可能并不洁净,包括机器中的空气或其他部分,或者干手机配备不足,无法满足所有工厂人员的需求。

使用空气叶片干手机的供应商需要执行风险分析已确定风险以及相关风险如何通过此替代方法进行控制。审核员将要求供应商证明空气干手机能够有效地干燥手部,并且不造成进一步污染,不会污染产品或环境。

什么是合约制造商?

SQF 已认证供应商能够与合作制造商和合作包装商签订合同以生产具有 SQF 注册和认证的产品,前提是他们符合本准则的要求。供应商必须能够证明这些合约制造商遵照供应商的产品安全和质量参数(如果是 3 级别)且符合客户规范。合约制造商可能并非直接认证,但必须由 SQF 已认证供应商进行监督以确保供应商 SQF 认证所包括的产品根据 SQF 标准制造而成。供应商可要求所有合作包装商必须拥有 SQF 或 GFSI 认证以作为降低风险的方法,但必须保证合作包装商和合作制造商均符合客户要求/规范。

要满足 2.3.4 所规定的要求,所有合约制造商应满足认可供应商计划 (2.4.5) 的要求,其中至少包括 2.4.5.4 中的关键要素。在他们的政策手册中,应看到如何确定合约制造商和创建验证日程的程序以确保合作包装商和合作制造商符合供应商及其客户之间商定的规范要求。如果 SQF 已认证供应商拥有稳健和可接受的认可供应商计划,则合约制造商的大部分要求很可能可被接受。SQF 供应商应负责详细记录上述计划并证明他们已实施控制措施以确保所供应的产品符合规范,例如通过验证日程、抽样计划或第三方审核。供应商必须能够确保客户规范的变更不仅在内部留有完全记录,也能够验证所生产的产品反映了这些所需变更。

SQF 2000 准则(第 6 版)的罐头要求可在 SQF 准则(7.2 版本)中的何处查找到?

准则审核委员会对 SQF 2000 准则的 7 部分进行了详细讨论。委员会得出的结论是第 6 版中的罐头/热加工部分所讨论的多数概念是多余的且 7.2 版本的模块 2 和 11 中已充分涵盖。审核员仍然将根据第 7 版准则的要素使用 SQF 2000 准则的 7 部分的概念评估供应商并将其应用于罐头/热加工行业。

SQF 将与合适的行业团体合作以制定行业具体指导原则,提供准则模块 2 和 11 的具体解释。

模块 15 暂不提供。餐饮或零售业务能否进行 SQF 认证?应使用哪些模块?

模块 15 目前正在制定当中或者草拟阶段并由 SQFI 技术咨询委员会进行审核。此模块在获得批准并发布于 SQF 准则的新版本之前暂时无法使用。在这之前,食品行业类别 23 和 24 中的设施可实施模块 2 和 11。

资源

下载

SQF 准则 7.2 版

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

page header

SQF Code FAQs

What does the supplier have to provide for the mock recall records, as is required in element 2.6.2.1 iii of the SQF Code?

The auditor is expected to check the records the supplier has compiled during the annual test of the recall program.

Evidence may include:

  • A recall committee is established and all members understand their roles and responsibility;
  • The methods and responsibilities for notifying customers, SQFI, the certification body, regulators and other essential bodies are identified;
  • The recall/withdrawal system has been tested annually;
  • The recall/withdrawal system meets regulatory and customer requirements;
  • Communication has been tested during an actual or test recall;
  • Investigations into the root cause of actual recalls/withdrawals have been conducted;
  • Corrective actions have been taken on identified deficiencies in the recall/withdrawal (refer 2.5.5)

What are the parameters and what methods are required for air purity testing on compressed air to address element 11.5.7?

Purity is defined in the SQF Code (Appendix 2: Glossary) and means the absence of contaminants that could cause a food safety hazard. Pure air means the air is free of risk of cross-contamination to the products. Essentially, the air must not contribute any contamination to the product.

Food processing facilities need to operate from a fundamental assumption that compressed air can be a source of chemical and microbiological contamination. The site must verify and validate that the compressed air used in the facility is appropriate for use and not a source of contamination. Where compressed air comes in contact with exposed product, direct product contact surfaces and interior surface packaging, the air compressor should use food grade oil.

Preventive maintenance programs need to ensure that an appropriate filtration program is in place at the point of use and the filters are cleaned/changed at a frequency appropriate to the product and process or following any maintenance to air supply source or equipment. Maintenance must be done in a hygienic manner. Air should be filtered at the point of use for most operations (recommended filter size at point of use is 0.1 micron, or as determined as appropriate by a risk analysis). Nozzles and air hoses are to be in good condition, properly repaired and maintained in a hygienic state (e.g., cleaned and sanitized). Hoses and nozzles are to be kept off the ground.

Testing is to be conducted to validate the air-filtration control system for the compressed air is effective based on the risk to the product, but at a minimum of once a year. Testing can be done in-house or by a contracted party. Test requirements and number of samples will be based on the risk to the product and process. Microbiological testing can include testing for aerobic plate count and/or indicator organisms as appropriate to the operation. Testing for moisture should be considered if moisture is a potential risk to the product (e.g., dry operations). Aseptic sample collection should be used. There are a wide variety of measures available including the use of air sampling equipment, use of sterile sponges, membrane filtration and others.

Is the supplier required to notify their certification body of USDA issued Noncompliance Records (NRs)?

No. As outlined in Part A, 5.3 of the SQF Code, the certification body is to be notified only for recall events requiring public notification, such as Class l or Class ll recall or the receipt of a regulatory warning letter.

Who is the supplier required to contact and list as a contact in the event of a recall?

As outlined in Part A, 5.3 of the SQF Code, upon identification of a food safety event that requires public notification (such as Class I or Class II recall, or the receipt of a regulatory warning letter), SQF certified supplier shall notify the certification body and the SQFI in writing at foodsafetycrisis@sqfi.com within twenty-four (24) hours of the event. As stated in the SQF Code elements 2.4.1.3 and 2.6.3.1iv, SQFI and the Certification Body shall be listed as an essential body.

What are the requirements to be an SQF practitioner? Are individuals required to register or certify as a practitioner?

The education and knowledge requirements of an SQF practitioner are outlined in SQF Code, edition 7.2 in element 2.1.2.5. They are as follows:

The SQF practitioner shall:

  1. Be employed by the supplier as a company employee on a full-time basis;
  2. Hold a position of responsibility in relation to the management of the supplier’s SQF System;
  3. Have completed a HACCP training course;
  4. Be competent to implement and maintain HACCP based food safety plans; and
  5. Have an understanding of the SQF Code their level of certification and the requirements to implement and maintain SQF System relevant to the supplier scope of certification.

As noted, there are no specific requirements for training (other than HACCP) or testing. The practitioner must demonstrate knowledge of the current version of the SQF Code. Some choose to do this by either successfully completing an Implementing SQF Systems training course, or by successfully completing an Implementing SQF Systems examination. Additionally, the practitioner may adequately demonstrate knowledge of the Code by having an effectively-implemented SQF System or appropriately address questions posed by the auditor at the time of the certification audit.

Additionally, note that there is no requirement to register or “certify” as a practitioner. A person in the role of a practitioner must meet the requirements of 2.1.2.4 and 2.1.2.5 of the SQF Code. Therefore there is no need to “re-register” or “recertify,” nor is there a need to retake either the Implementing SQF Systems course or the Implementing SQF System examination if already successfully completed.

Is a supplier required to undergo a full document audit when moving from level 2 to level 3?

A document (or desk) audit is only required for the supplier’s initial certification audit, irrespective of level. A separate document audit is not required if the supplier chooses to progresses from level 1 to level 2, or from level 2 to level 3. Similarly, a separate desk audit is not required when the supplier changes product or process scope. Suppliers moving to a different level (e.g. from level 2 to level 3 or from level 3 to level 2) must wait until their next re-certification audit date.

When a supplier changes scope, including level, and in fact at all recertification audits and surveillance audits, changes to documentation shall be reviewed as part of the facility audit.

Section 2.5.6 of the SQF Code requires outside laboratories to be accredited to ISO 17025 or equivalent. What is equivalent and how is that determined?

ISO 17025 is the international standard for laboratory accreditation. It is a GFSI requirement that external analysis of inputs is performed by laboratories that are accredited to this international standard. However, some countries do not recognize ISO 17025, and have national laboratory accreditation standards in place.
Equivalence therefore applies to national standards that are used in-country, instead of ISO 17025.

What are the qualifications of an SQF auditor?

The criteria to register as an SQF auditor can be found via the SQF Professional tab of the SQF website.

In summary, an individual seeking to register as an SQF auditor will need to provide evidence of the following:

  1. Complete a registered Management System Lead Auditor training course (i.e. RABQSA, IRCA approved) of 40 hours duration.
  2. Complete SQF scheme owner training (e.g., Auditing SQF Systems) of 3 days duration. Note: Applicant may choose take the SQF Lead Auditor training course (of 5 days duration) to meet the requirements of 1 and 2 above.
  3. Successful completion of a HACCP training course with certificate issued. HACCP training must be a 2 day course with a final assessment and a certificate.
  4. Have at least 160 hours of food safety and/or quality auditing in the food industry (20 audit days).
  5. Have at least 5 years work experience in food safety, HACCP program management and/or quality systems management within the food industry.
    1. For each high risk Food Sector Category (FSC) requested for registration, the applicant shall demonstrate 2 years work experience in food safety and/or quality management within food industry within requested FSC, or 160 audit hours within requested FSC, or a combination of work experience and audit experience for each FSC requested.
  6. Must be either be employed by or contracted to a SQF licensed certification body (if contracted, then the applicant must be sponsored by at least one SQF licensed certification body).

To apply to register as an SQF auditor, the candidate will need to submit evidence to support the requirements outlined above via an online application. The online application can be accessed via the “SQF Professional” tab of the SQF website, or by clicking here.

For more information on the application process, including templates for audit logs and work experience, please visit the Become an SQF Professional page of the SQF website.

When can a supplier change to a different certification body during the whole SQF certification process?

The requirements for changing to a new certification body can be found under Part A, section 5.2 of the SQF Code, edition 7.2.

If an SQF supplier is certified under one certification body (CB) and would like to use a different CB, the supplier can change CBs after one certification cycle and cannot be under a surveillance audit schedule. The supplier must have closure of all outstanding non-conformities and the certification cannot be suspended or under threat of suspension or withdrawal. Suppliers that require a surveillance audit are permitted to change certification bodies only after the surveillance audit is conducted or by written approval from the SQFI senior technical director.

When a supplier changes certification bodies, the certificate of registration issued by the previous certification body remains valid until the expected expiration date. The certification number and re-certification date are transferred with the supplier to the new certification body.

It will be the responsibility of the certification body to review of the supplier’s certification to:

  1. Confirm the certificate of registration is current, valid and relates to the SQF Systems so certified.
  2. Confirm the supplier’s food sector category falls within the new certifier’s scope of accreditation.
  3. Confirm any complaints received are actioned;
  4. Review the supplier’s audit history (where the supplier can demonstrate such history to the satisfaction of the new certifier by way of copies of audit reports completed by any former certifier) and the impact of any outstanding non-conformities.
  5. Confirm the stage of the current certification cycle.

What happened to the pre-requisite programs (PRPs) that were in section 6 of the SQF 2000 Code? What PRPs need to be verified according to 2.4.2.4?

The pre-requisite programs that were addressed under section 6 of the SQF 2000 Code did not go away. They have been integrated with other food safety fundamentals to avoid duplication. All PRPs must be documented, implemented and verified as per 2.4.2.4. Keep in mind that all food safety fundamentals (i.e., PRPs), critical limits and other food safety controls need to be verified as per 2.5.1.2.

Why have the elements for the allergen management program, the approved supplier program, and the site’s training program been moved into module 2?

Allergen management, approved suppliers and training are considered to be important parts of the supplier’s SQF System and identified as System Elements, which are all located in module 2 of the SQF Code. Allergen management (2.8.2) is not a stand-alone program, but is part of the site’s food safety plan as well as many of the food safety fundamentals. The site’s approved supplier program (2.4.5) is now incorporated into module 2 within the “Incoming goods and services” section and the training program (2.9) is now considered an essential System Element. As with all SQF System Elements, these programs must be effectively documented and implemented if applicable, and verified to ensure effective implementation.

Why are PRPs not required to be validated? Instead, they are required to be verified as described in 2.5.2.4. Can you provide clarification as to whether PRP’s require formal validation?

The term “validation” specifically applies to control limits and requires scientific analysis to demonstrate that control limits are effective. Based on advice from our stakeholders, we reworded the requirement for pre-requisite programs to state that the PRPs be “confirmed to ensure they achieve the required result rather” than “validated.” The intent is to clarify the intent of the Code so that the effectiveness of the PRP is being met.

Section 11.3.2.2 in the SQF Code specifically identifies paper towels be provided at hand wash stations. Would hot air hand dryers or “air blades” be suitable alternatives?

The SQF Code specifically states paper towels because paper towels physically remove microorganisms from hands. Additionally, air hand dryers are not always an effective means of drying hands and in some instances can be a source of contamination. If a site desires to use air-hand dryers, the effectiveness must be verified. This means that the equipment used to dry the hands must be able to dry the hands without further contamination. For example, many times the air dryers do not completely dry the hands leading employees to dry their hands using other, unsanitary means (e.g., pants, unclean towel, etc.). Additionally, the hand dryers themselves may be unclean, including the air or other parts on the machine, or there may not be enough hand driers to adequately service all plant personnel.

Suppliers using air blades need to conduct a risk analysis to identify the risk and how the risk will be controlled through this alternative method. The auditor will require the supplier to demonstrate that the air hand dryer effectively dries the hands without further contamination and does not contaminate the product or environment.

What is a contract manufacturer?

A SQF certified supplier can contract co-manufacturers co-packers to produce product that comes under their SQF registration and certification, provided they comply with this Code requirement. The supplier must have a means of showing that these contract manufacturers follow the supplier’s product safety and if level 3, quality parameters and meet customer specifications. A contract manufacture may not be directly certified, but must be monitored by the SQF certified supplier to ensure that products included in the supplier’s SQF certification are manufactured according to SQF criteria. The supplier could mandate that all co-packers must have an SQF or GFSI certification as a means of reducing risk, but must provide assurance co-packers and co-manufacturers are meeting customer requirements/specifications.

To satisfy meeting the requirements under 2.3.4, it is expected that all contract manufacturers meet the requirements under the approved supplier program (2.4.5) which include as a minimum the key elements under 2.4.5.4. In their policy manual, it would be expected to see a procedure on how contract manufacturers are identified and establish a verification schedule to assure co-packers and co-mans are meeting the specification requirements agreed upon between the supplier and their customer. If an SQF certified supplier has a strong and acceptable approved supplier program the majority of the requirements for contract manufacturers are likely to be acceptable. It is the responsibility of the SQF supplier to have this well documented and prove that they have controls in place that assure the products supplied are meeting specification, such as through verification schedules, sampling plans or third party audits. The supplier must be able to assure that changes to customer specifications are not only fully documented internally and verification that product produced reflects the required change.

Where can the canning requirements of the SQF 2000 Code, 6th edition be found in the SQF Code, edition 7.2?

Section 7 of the SQF 2000 Code was discussed at length by the Code review committee. The position the committee took was that many concepts addressed in the canning/thermal processing section of the 6th edition were redundant and adequately covered by modules 2 and 11 of edition 7.2. The auditor will still assess the supplier using the concepts of section 7 of the SQF 2000 Code against the elements of the 7th edition Code and apply them to the canning/thermal processing industry.

SQF will work with applicable industry groups to develop sector-specific guidance to specifically offer interpretations of modules 2 and 11 of the Code.

Module 15 is not currently available. Can a catering or retail operation be SQF certified? What modules are to be used?

Module 15 is currently under development or is in draft form and under review by the SQFI Technical Advisory Committee. This module will not be available for use until it is approved and published in a later version of the SQF Code. Until that time, facilities in food sector category 23, 24 can implement modules 2 and 11.

Resources

Downloads

SQF Code, Ed. 7.2